Reading Room at Youxian Secondary School, Mianyang City, Sichuan

Date 1 September, 2010
Place Youxian Secondary School, Mianyang City, Sichuan Province)
Organizers Youxian Secondary School, Mianyang City
Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Sponsors Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Aim and Objectives To provide reading and recreational facilities for the rebuilt School after the earthquake;
To help establishing sustainable educational program for the afflicted students of the earthquake.

Report

Youxian Secondary School is an integrated school with 40% local students, 60% migrant children of workers and peasants from the rural area. The School charges no tuition, but only 20 yuan for workbook fee. Before the earthquake, the School was granted the first class prize of Quality Teaching School in Youxian district for three consecutive years, and even a top award this year and become a window school for the integrated urban and rural schools in Youxian district.

Construction fund of the new school is donated by the Tzu Chi Foundation in Taiwan. According to the construction plan, the primary and secondary sectors will be located in the same zone. There will be 73 teaching staff and 1,037 secondary junior students, the number of the juniors will see a net increase of more than 300 each year reaching 2,000 students. Including the primary school, the total student number will reach 3500-4000 after 5 years.

Green Field Foundation organized an “English Summer Camp” in the temporary Youxian Secondary School in 2009. The Foundation has decided to allocate RMB 170,000 from the “Care for Tomorrow” program for buying books and other facilities for the Reading Room at Youxian Secondary School.

The volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao is responsible for managing and purchasing the books and facilities for the School. Construction of the Reading Room was completed on 1 September 2010 and has been opened since then.

Items worth 171,720 yuan including bookshelves, desk, chairs, and books were bought for the Reading Room.

The Reading Room with an area of over 300 sq. m. is located at the third floor of the Academic Building. The School has requested for additional desk and chairs, bookshelves and other facilities in consideration of long-term development. This time, 10,000 new books are added and the Reading Room can accommodate 200 students.

As representative of the GFF, Mu attended the ceremony of donation of Reading Room held at Youxian Secondary School on 22 December 2010.

Volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao

%A %B %e%q, %YPermalink

Report on “Better English for A Greener China Summer Camp” for English Teachers of Fuyuan County, Yunnan, China, 2010

Date July 26th – 30th, 2010
Place Shengjing Middle School, Fuyuan, Yunnan, China
Organizers Fuyuan Education Board

Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)

Sponsors Fuyuan Shengjing Middle School

Crowe Horwath (HK) CPA Limited

Green Field Foundation Limited

Aim and Objectives
  • To improve teaching skill and techniques of local English teachers through linguistic techniques and creative learning activities;
  • To bring the concept of better use of natural resources and environmental protection to local teachers so that they can influence their students.

Report

The GFF English Summer Camp was held again this year. The target students were the secondary English teachers of Fuyuan County, Yunnan. A training section was given to all volunteer members on July 17 to ensure the activity would be held fruitfully and effectively.

July 24 was a sunny Saturday. A total of 16 volunteers were divided into 2 groups and traveled to Kunming from Hong Kong & Shenzhen. We had dinner in Kunming and took a bus organized by local Education Bureau to Fuyuan. We arrived the hotel quite late. The overall conditions of the hotel were pretty good.

On Sunday, we had a meeting in the morning to make sure everything is in order, and had a sight seeing trip to the old “Tea Route” in the afternoon. As it was the first time for some of the volunteers visiting Kunming, the scenery was very impressive. Yet our trip was cut short by pouring rain.

The camp started from July 26, Monday to July 30, Friday. The morning sections were lessons given by tutors and the afternoons sections were group discussions leading and monitoring by the volunteers. There were brief exchange and sharing for us each evening after school.

At the last day of the camp, a group performance were presented by each group to demonstrate the skills they learnt during the past 4 days and show their passion to perform in English. The performances included dramas, singings and charade. The shows were creative and full of fun. All volunteers were impressed by their passion and creativity. It was agreed that teachers are born actors.

The local English teachers, i.e. our students, were friendly and enthusiastic. They tried very hard to communicate with us in English. Some of them were a bit shy at the beginning but became quite talkative after warming up. In the afternoon classes, besides doing the assigned exercises, they also shared their culture and stories with us. Their English standard was quite high, although the pronunciation was with strong accent in general. Their vocabulary is good as well. The local educational department paid high attention to this activity. The officers were also very considerate and hospitable.

It was to our surprise that Fuyuan is so rich. The mining industry there generates wealth for them. Next time, we are looking forward to visit a more remote and less established county.

Last but not the least, Kunming is a very beautiful place.

Edith Kung

%A %B %e%q, %YPermalink

Library at Chenjiaba Secondary School, Mianyang City, Sichuan

Date 17 June, 2010
Place Chenjiaba Secondary School, Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County
Organizers Chenjiaba Secondary School
Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County
Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Sponsors Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Aim and Objectives To provide reading facilities for the rebuilt school after the earthquake;
To help establishing sustainable educational facility for the afflicted students of the earthquake.

Report

The old Chenjiaba Secondary School was located at Chenjiabachang Town, 19 km east of the old city of Beichuan. The whole school including the academic and office building, laboratory, teaching staff and student hostels, and all facilities were totally disrupted in the huge earthquake in 12 May. 11 students and 5 teachers were reported dead, with dozens injuried. After the earthquake, the students have to go to other parts of Beichuan such as Guixi and Mianyang to continue their studies.

After the casualties, with assistance from Qingdao city, the reconstruction project of Chenjiaba junior high school was started on 12 January 2009 and completed on 25 August 2009. The new school is named as “Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County Haier Chenjiaba Secondary School”.

The new school is located at Shuangyan Village of Chenjiaba. The school has a site area of 15,550 sq m, a total floor area of 6,087 sq m, and comprises of the teaching zone, living zone and sports zone. The teaching zone has 15 classrooms, one laboratory for each of the physics, chemistry and biology class respectively, a PC room, multi-media teaching room, language room, music room, arts room, teaching room for children not living with their parent or parents who are working in other areas, and 8 teaching staff offices. The living zone has 40 student hostels, a student canteen and a restaurant, and 8 teaching duty rooms. The sports zone, with a site area of 5,000 sq m, has a 200-m circular track, a 100-m track, and a mini football field. Also, the school is fenced and has a green area. All the facilities and equipment in the functional teaching rooms, offices, laboratories, canteens and hostels are brand new. Total investment of the school amounts to 21.57 million yuan.

The school officially opened on 30 August 2009. Currently, it has 511 students of 12 classes; 39 teaching staff, 35 of them are permanent staff.

Green Field Foundation has visit the afflicted school in 2009 and decided to allocate RMB150,000 yuan from the “Care for Tomorrow” program to buy books and equipment for the library at the school to help establishing sustainable educational facilities for the afflicted students.

A total of RMB150,840 yuan was spent in the library. Facilities provided include book, bookshelves, desk and chairs, and computers.

The original plan of the school did not include the library and reading room. After the foundation expressed the wish of donation, the school authority decided to transform 2 offices into a library and a corridor linking the 2 teaching building into the reading room.

The reading room is spacious and well-lit with 30 reading desks and 180 seats. We had donated 5,000 books to the library. Two volunteers work as instructors and librarians in the library, responsible for handling, lending the books, setting up electronic files, and guiding the students.

Our volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao is responsible for managing and purchasing the books and facilities for the reading room. Construction of the library and reading room was completed on 17 June 2010 and has been opened since then.

As representatives of the GFF, we attended the ceremony of donation of reading room held at Haier Chenjiaba Secondary School on 25 June 2010.

Volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao
25 June 2010

%A %B %e%q, %YPermalink

Reading Room at Ganxi Primary School, Mianyang City, Sichuan

Date 20 May, 2010
Place Ganxi Primary School, Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County
Organizers Ganxi Primary School, Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County
Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Sponsors Green Field Foundation Limited (GFF)
Aim and Objectives To provide reading facilities for the rebuilt school after the earthquake;
To help establish sustainable educational facility for the afflicted students of the earthquake.

Report

The huge earthquake in 12 May disrupted the whole Ganxi Primary School in Beichuan Qiang Autonomous County. With support from the Party, the Government and the whole community, construction of a new school building was started on 7 August 2009 and already completed. A celebration ceremony was held on 9 May 2010. With donations of 6.5 million yuan raised by Suzhou TV News “Night Express” together with Gusu Evening Post and contributed through the Suzhou Red Cross, and 5.36 million yuan from Pingguo County, Baise City, Guangxi Zhuangzu Autonomous Region, construction of the multifunctional new school can be progressed smoothly on a new site as planned by the County’s educational authority.

The new school building is located at Guixi Village, Beichuan County, with a site area of 38 acres and floor area of 5,000 sq. m. which can accommodate 380 students and a full range of facilities including a 300-m running track, football field, basketball court, and an academic building. The Academic Building has a laboratory, PC room, music room, arts room, multi-media teaching room, technical room, Party office, library, and filing room. To ensure education quality, the school has recruited a team of more than 20 teachers with college or above education level, and relevant supporting staff.

In support of the reconstruction of the quake-affected areas in Sichuan and to help in establishing sustainable educational program for the afflicted students of the earthquake, the Green Field Foundation has made a visit there and decided to allocate RMB100,000 yuan from the “Care for Tomorrow” program for buying books and bookshelves for the Library at Ganxi Primary School.

Items worth RMB100,800 yuan including bookshelves, desk and chairs, books and computers were bought for the Library.

The Library, with an area of 75 sq m, is located at the third floor of the Academic Building. We estimated during our visit that the School has received over 1,000 books donated by all walks of life after the earthquake, plus the 5,800 books donated by us, the total number of books reach 7,000.

Our volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao is responsible for managing and purchasing the books and facilities for the School. Construction of the Library was completed on 20 May 2010 and has been opened since then. There are 6 reading desks and 36 seats, a librarian and guidance course for students.

As representatives of the GFF, we attended the ceremony of donation of reading room held at Guixi Primary School on 25 June 2010.

Volunteer in Sichuan, Mu Guang Yao
25 June 2010

%A %B %e%q, %YPermalink

四川省綿陽市「游仙中學圖書室」

日期 2010年9月1日
地點 四川省綿陽市游仙中學
組織者 綿陽市游仙中學
大地基金有限公司
贊助機構 大地基金有限公司
目標 為四川地震災區重建學校提供閱讀及康樂設備,協助受災地區學生長遠可持續之教育工作

報告

游仙中學爲城郊集合中學,40%爲當地生,60%爲民工子女,均爲工農子弟。學費全免,只收20元作業本費。
地震前,游仙中學連續三年獲得游仙區辦學質量評估一等獎,今年獲特等獎。成爲游仙區城郊結合部的窗口
學校。

新校舍的建設由臺灣的慈濟基金會援建,計劃小學部中學部合在一起。教職工73人,初中生1037人,每年淨增加300餘人。5年後將到達2000人。包括小學將到達3500至4000人。

大地基金于2009年在游仙中學板房學校舉辦「英語環保夏令營」,並决定從基金的「愛心建明天」項目撥資捐贈人民幣 170,000元,作學校圖書室購置圖書及書架設備之用。

游仙中學圖書室項目由大地四川義工穆光耀負責管理支配及購置所需圖書及設備給予學校。圖書室工程已於2010年9月1日完成供學生使用。

此次,游仙中學圖書室所購物品總金額爲171720.00元。包含了書架、閱覽桌椅、圖書在內。

游仙中學圖書室設立在綜合教學樓三樓,面積爲300余平米。爲長遠發展考慮,學校請求增加閱覽室桌椅、書架等硬件設施的比例。此次,新增圖書10000册,可同時容納200余名學生。

2010年12月22日,代表大地基金在游仙中學多媒體教室舉行圖書室捐贈儀式。

大地四川義工:穆光耀

雲南省富源縣英語老師「活學英語環保夏令營」

日期 2010年7月26-30日
地點 雲南省富源縣勝境中學
組織者 富源縣教育局
大地基金有限公司
贊助機構 富源縣勝境中學
國富浩華 (香港) 會計師事務所有限公司
大地基金有限公司
目標
  • 利用活動教學改善和提高中國英語老師的執教技考
  • 向當地老師推廣保育環境意識,從而由他們影響學生關注環境保護

報告

大地基金於今年再次舉辦英語環保夏令營活動。這次的對像是位於昆明市富源縣中學的英文教師。參加的導師和志願者共約16人,我們在出發前進行了準備會議及訓練,以確保活動能順利有效地進行。

7月24日是一個美好的星期六。義工們分2批分別從香港及深圳出發。我們在昆明吃過晚飯後便前往富源,抵達酒店時已不早。酒店的環境很不錯,房間整潔舒適,設施齊全。

星期天早上我們開了一次準備會議。下午,教育局的負責人王老師帶我們到「茶馬古道」遊覽。由於我們當中一些志願者是第一次到昆明富源,縱使觀光時間不長,但還是相當令人印象深刻及難忘。

這次的英語環保夏令營從7月26日開始至到7月30日,為期5天。早上時段主要是導師們的課堂,志願者則分配到不同的班上從旁協助。下午是志願者帶領的小組討論課。每天放學後,我們會回到酒店開會檢討當天上課情況及所遇問題;雖說這是檢討會議,但導師們總是細心的為我們準備一些茶點小吃,是個很愉快的交流分享時間。

星期五早上,也是夏令營的最後一天,我們舉辦了一個英語活動。學生們分成了4組,每組能自由選擇一個題目及表演方式,例如戲劇、唱歌或猜字謎遊戲,學生們會以全英語進行演出。這次的表演非常有趣,他們的創意及投入樣我們這些導師及志願者樂在其中。在這次英語環保夏令營中有些事情讓我的印象非常深刻。

當地英語的教師也就是我們的學生都很熱情友善,他們都努地嘗試與我們用英語溝通,即使剛開始時有些學生比較害羞,但在不斷的溝通下很快便變得健談。在下午的課堂,除了做指定的討論練習外,他們也和我們分享他們的文化及故事。儘管有些學生的英語發音不太清晰標準但他們整體的英語水平實在是遠比我們預期好。他們的詞彙知識絕不比我差甚至更好。

當地教育局對於這次的活動高度重視及關注。有關人員非常熱情好客,照顧周到。

我們都很驚訝富源縣原來是一個很富有的地方,原因是那邊是盛產煤礦的。希望明年可以選擇一個比較落後的縣市。

最後我想說的是昆明實在是一個美麗的地方!

龔小嵐

四川省綿陽市「陳家壩中學圖書室」

日期 2010年6月17日
地點 北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學
組織者 北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學
大地基金有限公司
贊助機構 大地基金有限公司
目標 為四川地震灾區重建學校提供閱讀及康樂設備
協助受灾地區學生長遠可持續之教育工作

報告

北川陳家壩中學位于北川老縣城以東19千米的陳家壩場鎮。2008年的“5.12”特大地震,徹底打破了學校的發展規劃。地震中學校教學辦公樓、實驗樓、學生宿舍樓、教師公寓全部垮塌,教學生活設施全部損毀。學生遇難11人,教師遇難5人,輕重傷幾十人。 學生不得不分散到桂溪、綿陽等地异地複課。

地震以後,由青島對口支持的灾後重建項目陳家壩初級中學于2009年1月12日奠基,全面開工建設,2009年8月25日,新學校竣工並正式整體交付使用,學校更名為“北川羌族自治縣海爾陳家壩中學”

新的陳家壩初級中學异址重建于陳家壩鄉雙堰村二社林家下壩。占地15550平方米,總建築面積6087平方米。由教學區、生活區和運動區三部分組成。其中教學區包括15個教室,物理、化學、生物實驗室及準備室各一個,微機室、多媒體教室、語音室、音樂教室、美術教室、留守兒童教室各一個、教室辦公室8間。生活區包括學生宿舍40間,學生食堂、餐廳各一個,教室值班房8間。運動區有200m環形跑道、100m跑道及小型足球場一個,整個運動區占地面積5000平方米。此外還包括圍墻、綠化帶等附屬設施。學校各功能教室、辦公室、實驗室、食堂、宿舍等配備的設備設施均為全新配置。學校總投資2157萬元。

海爾陳家壩中學于2009年8月30日正式開學投入使用,現有12個教學班,學生511人,教職工39人,正式教職工35人(其中專任教師32人,管理人員1人,工勤人員2人),特崗教師4人,學歷達標率90%,其中研究生1人,本科19人。

為支持四川地震灾後重建,協助受灾地區學生長遠可持續之教育工作,經大地基金派員視察後,决定從基金的「愛心建明天」項目撥資捐贈人民幣150,000元,作學校圖書室購置圖書及書架設備之用。

此次,陳家壩中學圖書室所購物品總金額150840.00元。包含了書架、閱覽桌椅、圖書、電腦在內。

陳家壩中學在建校之初,並未規劃圖書閱覽室,在基金會考察學校、表達了捐贈意願後、學校非常感激,當即决定將兩間小辦公室約60餘平方米改為圖書室用于存放圖書,將連接兩座教學樓的一條寬敞的走廊約100平方米改建為圖書室閱覽室。

陳家壩中學圖書閱覽室寬敞明亮,設有30張閱覽桌,180個座位。圖書室原有震後捐贈的部分圖書及書架,此次,新增圖書5000冊。 有兩名志願者在陳家壩中學支教並擔任圖書室管理員,負責圖書整理、借閱、建立電子檔案,並指導學生閱讀。

陳家壩中學圖書室項目由大地四川義工穆光耀負責管理支配及購置所需圖書及設備給予學校。圖書室工程已于2010年6月17日完成供學生使用。

2010年6月25日在陳家壩中學,我們代表大地教育基金進行了圖書室捐贈儀式。

大地四川義工: 穆光耀
2010年6月25日

四川省綿陽市「甘溪小學圖書室」

日期 2010年5月20日
地點 北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學
組織者 北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學
大地基金有限公司
贊助機構 大地基金有限公司
目標 為四川地震灾區重建學校提供閱讀及康樂設備
協助受灾地區學生長遠可持續之教育工作

報告

“5.12”特大地震,使北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學校舍全部損毀,教育教學設施設備全被破壞,在黨和國家以及全社會對北川教育的大力支持下,由蘇州電視新聞夜班車和姑蘇晚報募集資金,通過蘇州紅十宇會捐資650萬元、廣西壯族自治區百色市平果縣出資536萬元,共同修建的具有綜合性能的 “北川羌族自治縣甘溪小學”。根據縣教育灾後統一規劃,甘溪小學園定于异址重建,重建工程于2009年8月7日開工,2010年5月9日舉行新校園落成典禮。

新落成的甘溪小學在北川縣桂溪鄉,占地面積38畝,建築面積5,000平方米,可容納380名學生,設施設備配套齊全,建有300米塑膠跑道、足球場、籃球場等運動設施。學校有綜合教學樓,內設標準實驗室、微機室、音樂室、美術室、多媒體教室、勞技室、黨政辦公室、圖書室、檔案室。為了進一步提高教學質量,教體局特為學校配備了專科以上學歷教職工20多人。其中本科學歷教師1人,大專學歷教師19人,以及相關的後勤人員。

為支持四川地震灾後重建,協助受灾地區學生長遠可持續之教育工作,經大地基金派員視察後,决定從基金的「愛心建明天」項目撥資捐贈人民幣100,000元,作學校圖書室購置圖書及書架設備之用。

此次,甘溪小學圖書室所購物品總金額為100,800.00元。包含了書架、閱覽桌椅、圖書、電腦在內。

甘溪小學圖書室設立在綜合教學樓三樓,面積約為75平方米。考察中,我們粗略統計甘溪小學震後接受社會各界捐贈各色圖書逾千冊,因此,此次新增圖書5,800冊,圖書室圖書總量在7,000餘冊左右。

甘溪小學圖書室項目由大地四川義工穆光耀負責管理支配及購置所需圖書及設備給予學校。圖書室工程已于2010年5月20日完成供學生使用。根據圖書室現場環境,設有6張閱覽桌,36個座位。學校配有專項的圖書室管理員,並開設有閱讀課對學生引導閱讀。

2010年6月25日在桂溪小學,我們代表大地教育基金進行了圖書室捐贈儀式。

大地四川義工: 穆光耀
2010年6月25日